Messages

Chair’s Message


Angela De Palma

In 2017, the College celebrated 20 years of protecting and serving the public interest. During those years elected and appointed Council members have been actively engaged in the self-regulation of the teaching profession in Ontario. Council consists of people who are knowledgeable, experienced and dedicated to governing the profession.

Our 37-member Council governs with transparency and accountability. Giving advice and making decisions with intention is grounded in leadership that is thoughtful, strategic and prudent. 

Seeking Input

In the summer of 2017, the College held focus group sessions with College members and the public to gauge their knowledge of the College’s mandate and to hear how our services can more fully meet their needs within our role as a regulator of the teaching profession.

We conducted these sessions in English and French in Ottawa, Kingston, London, Sudbury, Toronto and St. Catharines, cities chosen to reflect different geographical regions, demographics and languages.

Our engagement process was designed to:

  • gather insights into what members and the public know about the College, and how they have learned about the organization;
  • identify future professional advisory topics and better understand which subjects College members and parents find important and why they resonate; and
  • gather opinions about the College’s current communications tools and services, and determine how we can refine them to meet our audiences’ needs.

The feedback helps the College’s Council and staff act with increased insight, agility and efficiency.

By better anticipating forthcoming needs and changes, Ontario certified teachers and the public can both be better served.

Championing Future Teachers

We were delighted this year to recognize three accomplished and committed teacher candidates with our annual Ontario College of Teachers Scholarship Program, which honours excellence in teacher education and financially assists future teachers.

Devan Kernaghan is this year’s recipient of the Joseph W. Atkinson Scholarship for Excellence in Teacher Education. He has gained a reputation for being resilient, generous, empathetic and highly motivated. Kernaghan overcame a brain injury while playing football in high school and continued on to succeed both academically and in varsity sports. As an academic assistant and peer tutor, he is known for his meaningful contributions to the campus community.

Nicole Billington is the recipient of the Ontario College of Teachers Primary/Junior or Junior/Intermediate Scholarship. Described by her professors as a patient, passionate and dedicated leader with a kind heart, she has been actively involved as a tutor and teaching assistant. She worked in a psychology laboratory as a research assistant focused on children and maltreatment.

She also supported a children’s organization by volunteering in its theatre program for children and teens with autism. Through the same organization, she helped care for hospitalized newborns.

Kara Nagel is the recipient of the Ontario College of Teachers Intermediate/Senior Scholarship. She is known for her compassionate and spunky personality and for building connections with students so they feel included and respected. She persevered through many life challenges including homelessness and mental illness to become a great advocate for mental health. 

I offer my sincere thanks to those Council members who served on the scholarship subcommittee and read many compelling applications before offering their recommendations. 

Highlighting Dedication in Service

The year saw several departures and appointments within Council. Those who concluded their distinguished service with us include appointed members Marie-Louise Chartrand in October and Robert Gagné in November.

Claudia Patenaude-Daniels, OCT, was appointed to replace elected member William Ngassam, OCT, who left Council in the fall of 2016.

In addition, public members Marlène Marwah and Michelle Miner-Seal were appointed in November 2017, Jean-Luc Bernard, OCT, was reappointed for an additional year and Elizabeth Edgar-Webkamigad, OCT, Godwin Ifedi and Ronna Warsh were reappointed for three more years.

Council members and College staff show commitment to the profession every day through the expertise and care they bring to their duties.

I offer my gratitude to all of them for the many ways in which they contribute to the public interest.

Signature for Angela De Palma, OCT

Angela De Palma, OCT

Messages

Mot de la présidente


En 2017, l’Ordre a fêté 20 ans d’engagement à protéger et à servir l’intérêt du public. Pendant cette période, les membres élus et nommés du conseil ont assuré l’autoréglementation de la profession enseignante en Ontario. Les membres du conseil sont des personnes renseignées et chevronnées qui se consacrent à la régie de la profession enseignante.

Composé de 37 membres, notre conseil régit la profession avec transparence et responsabilité. Ses observations judicieuses et sa prise de décision éclairée découlent d’un leadership réfléchi, stratégique et prudent. 

Votre rétroaction

Pendant l’été 2017, nous avons tenu des séances de discussion avec nos membres et le public afin de mesurer leur connaissance du mandat de l’Ordre. Nous souhaitions également découvrir comment, en tant qu’organisme de réglementation de la profession enseignante, nous pourrions mieux répondre à leurs besoins.

Les séances se sont déroulées en français et en anglais à Ottawa, Kingston, London, Sudbury, Toronto et Saint Catharines – des villes choisies dans le but de refléter différentes zones géographiques, données démographiques et situations linguistiques.

Notre processus de participation visait à :

  • collecter des informations qui attestent du savoir acquis par les membres et le public sur l’Ordre et des façons qui leur ont permis de mieux nous connaître;
  • déterminer les thèmes des prochaines recommandations professionnelles et mieux comprendre quelles questions importent à nos membres et aux parents, et pourquoi elles les touchent;
  • recueillir des opinions sur les outils et services de communication actuels de l’Ordre et déterminer comment les peaufiner afin de répondre aux besoins de nos clientèles.

La rétroaction aide le conseil et le personnel de l’Ordre à agir avec plus d’efficacité, d’agilité et de perspicacité.

Mieux anticiper les besoins et changements nous permettrait de mieux servir le public et les enseignants agréés de l’Ontario.

Parrainer de futurs membres de la profession

Cette année, notre programme de bourses récompense trois étudiants engagés et accomplis. Ainsi, l’Ordre appuie l’excellence en formation à l’enseignement et apporte une aide financière à de futurs pédagogues.

Devan Kernaghan est lauréat de la Bourse d’excellence en formation à l’enseignement JosephW.Atkinson. Sa réputation repose sur sa résilience, sa générosité, son empathie et sa grande motivation. M. Kernaghan a survécu à un traumatisme crânien subi en jouant au football pour son école secondaire; il a continué de connaître un franc succès tant en termes d’études que de sports universitaires. De plus, il est reconnu pour ses contributions importantes à la communauté universitaire en tant qu’aide-professeur et tuteur.

Nicole Billington est lauréate de la Bourse de l’Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario pour les cycles primaire et moyen ou moyen et intermédiaire. Selon ses professeurs, elle est une leader au grand cœur, passionnée, dévouée et patiente qui a joué un rôle actif comme aideenseignante et tutrice. À un laboratoire de psychologie, elle a occupé le poste d’adjointe aux recherches portant sur les enfants et la violence à leur égard.

Elle a également travaillé comme bénévole pour un organisme d’aide à l’enfance dans son programme d’art dramatique pour enfants et adolescents autistes. Par l’entremise du même organisme, elle a aidé à donner des soins aux nouveau-nés hospitalisés.

Kara Nagel est lauréate de la Bourse de l’Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario pour les cycles intermédiaire et supérieur. Sa personnalité compatissante et courageuse ainsi que son aptitude à tisser des liens avec les élèves pour les aider à se sentir inclus et respectés la distinguent. Elle a surmonté de nombreux défis de la vie, notamment l’itinérance et les troubles mentaux, et est devenue porte-parole pour la santé mentale. 

Je suis particulièrement reconnaissante aux membres du conseil qui ont siégé au sous-comité des bourses et lu les nombreuses candidatures intéressantes avant d’offrir leurs recommandations.  

Souligner le dévouement

Au cours de l’année, le conseil a connu plusieurs départs et nominations. Parmi ceux qui ont terminé leur mandat de façon remarquable, notons les membres nommés Marie-Louise Chartrand (octobre) et Robert Gagné (novembre).

Claudia Patenaude-Daniels, EAO, a été nommée pour remplacer William Ngassam, EAO, membre élu qui a quitté le conseil à l’automne 2016.

En novembre 2017, le gouvernement provincial a nommé deux représentantes du public pour siéger au conseil : Marlène Marwah et Michelle Miner-Seal. Il a prolongé la durée du mandat de Jean-Luc Bernard, EAO, d’un an, ainsi que d’Elizabeth Edgar-Webkamigad, EAO, de Godwin Ifedi et de Ronna Warsh de trois ans.

Tous les jours, les membres du conseil et le personnel de l’Ordre font preuve d’engagement pour la profession grâce à l’expertise et à l’attention fournies dans le cadre de leurs fonctions.

Je tiens à remercier chacun d’eux d’avoir servi de maintes façons l’intérêt du public.

Signature de Angela De Palma, EAO

Angela De Palma, EAO