Committees at Work

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is a special committee of Council focused on Council governance, Council and committee membership, and the election of Council members. It offers guidance to Council on governance issues such as risk assessment, evaluation and Council member development, succession planning and transition effectiveness.

In 2017, the committee focused on planning for the 2018 election of Council members. The committee approved voting procedures to guide the administration of the election process. The committee also approved three communication opportunities for election candidates to engage with voters: providing answers to three questions, a candidate blog and an online voter forum. The committee monitored results of the outreach and engagement initiatives undertaken as part of the strategic communication plan to assess progress against objectives. 

The Governance Committee recommended the continuation of a pilot program that allows Council members to assess the work of Council — as well as how they prepare for their role — through a self-evaluation tool. Results from this program will feed into an orientation program for incoming Council members in 2018.

Strategic planning was a focus of the committee in 2017. It assessed results from an education session attended by Council members centred on strategic decision-making in support of the College’s strategic plan. The committee initiated the cyclical process to update the strategic plan, including the strategic priorities — a process that will begin with this seventh Council and continue with the incoming eighth Council in 2018.

Also in 2017, the committee began reviewing procedures for the next Council, including the process to develop Council committee memberships and how committee chairs are elected. It initiated an independent review of College governance beginning in 2018. The committee also interviewed and recommended an appointment for a Council vacancy for the French-Language Catholic Board Secondary position.


  • Angela De Palma, OCT (e)
  • Matthew Kavanagh, OCT (e) (Chair)
  • Myreille Loubert, OCT (e)
  • Sara Nouini, OCT (e) (Vice-Chair)
  • Tom Potter (a)
  • Ronna Warsh (a)
  • Marie-Claude Yaacov (a)

(a) = appointed
(e) = elected